Singleton is a charming town contained within a loop of the Hunter River in the state of New South Wales. Occupying a prime location just 80kms from the coast and the city of Newcastle, the town is a state transportation hub. Two major state roads, the B84-Golden Highway and the A15-New England Highway, merge just south of Singleton.
The town’s heritage 1860s rail station has services from both Sydney and Newcastle, while intercity buses also call here on their journeys.
In a tribute to the local region’s temperate climate, Singleton is home to one of the biggest sundials in the world. Three urban museums trace local history, military actions and the legacy of the Sisters of Mercy Convent. The Club House Hotel is one of numerous colonial-style structures in the downtown precinct.
There are abundant attractions within easy distance of Singleton and these accommodation options make great bases for exploring. Appletree Aboriginal Area is a pleasant park offering activities such as hiking, swimming and horseback riding on the way to Wollemi National Park.
Wollembi is the northern segment of the Blue Mountains World Heritage zone and features dramatic landscapes, aboriginal cave paintings and rock art. Adrenalin junkies flock here to try their hand at canyoning.
The Newnes Glow-worm Tunnel and Lithgow’s so-called Zig Zag Railway are among other popular draws in the environs of Wollemi. Pokolbin is 30kms from Singleton and the centre of the pastoral Lower Hunter Valley wine producing district.
Situated in the Northwest of the Hunter Valley, Singleton offers a wonderful mix of attractive nature, country hospitality and great food and wine. Browse around the quaint shops and stop at a traditional-style tearoom.
Visitors should take the Singleton Town Walk, see the largest sundial and solar farm in the Southern Hemisphere and visit the Singleton Historical Museum located in Burdekin Park and experience the local history dating from the early 19th century.
Step back in time with a guided tour through the Singleton Mercy Convent which dates from 1893. The Chapel, Gardens and Georgian Cottage Museum are included in the tour offering a chance to learn the story of the pioneering Sisters of Mercy who arrived from Ireland in 1875.
In this area there is a pretty good selection of eateries, take-away fast-food outlets and shops. Accommodation is clustered close to the Club House on John Street and the New England Highway, and offers something for all budgets and includes hostels, motels and several upmarket hotels.
There are also a number of campsites on the outskirts of town which offer pitches for caravans, campervans and tents.